Funfetti Cupcakes

IMG_4083

IMG_4545

A couple of months ago, my parents and I made the big drive down to southern California to attend my sister’s graduation.  I wanted to make something special for her.  I wanted that something to be portable, festive, and tasty.  Cupcakes seemed to fit the bill and I knew exactly which cupcakes I wanted to make.  I chose the funfetti variety.  My sister has always loved all things funfetti.  Whether it is getting jimmies atop her fro-yo, funfetti cookies or cupcakes, my sister loves herself some funfetti.  And I can’t blame her! I mean who doesn’t love the colorful rainbow studded in a fluffy and light cupcake?  Funfetti cupcakes seemed to be the perfect treat to bring to her graduation.

IMG_4495
The buttermilk, wet and dry ingredients, and the star…JIMMIES!
IMG_4505
The funfetti batter ready to be scooped and baked!
IMG_4510
Before…
IMG_4522
After!

What to top these beauties with…

IMG_4525IMG_4527

At first I thought of a funfetti buttercream frosting.  (You can never have too much funfetti.) But then after some thinking, I was thinking of how a boston cream pie is constructed.  In a boston cream pie, you have two layers of fluffy vanilla cake, and vanilla custard sandwiched in-between the two layers.  Atop is not a frosting, but a delectable, rich, not-to-sweet, dark chocolate ganache.  I thought I would apply that concept to these festive cupcakes.  And chocolate ganache is one of the simplest things to make.  All it takes is dark chocolate morsels and some warm milk or cream.  All I had on hand was 1% milk so I substituted the traditional heavy cream for the 1% milk. And let me tell you, you would never have missed the heavy cream.  The chocolate ganache was on the looser side because I wanted it to be almost glaze-like.  I wanted it to mimic the glaze of a chocolate sprinkle donut.  The kind of glaze that sits right atop the cupcake and slightly cracks when you bite into it.  And when you open your mouth to take another bite, you front teeth are stained with the chocolately goodness.  From my mouthwatering description of these delectably, delicious cupcakes I may have already swayed you to top these cupcakes with a chocolate ganache.  But I will leave the choice up to you.  You can top these with the traditional funfetti buttercream if you so desire.  Both will certainly be delightful.

IMG_4596

These cupcakes really are a breeze to make.

Cupcakes

Makes 12 standard size cupcakes

Prep Time: 20 mins

Cook Time: 15-20 mins

Cupcakes

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt*
  • 1 stick Earth Balance melted (can substitute half for canola oil, applesauce, or substitute entire stick for 1 stick unsalted butter)
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar (can substitute entirely for 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons Truvia Sugar Blend)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs and one egg white
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk (can substitute entirely for 3/4 cup milk and 1 teaspoon vinegar)
  • 1/2 cup rainbow jimmies

IMG_4531

Dark Chocolate Ganache

  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate morsels
  • 1/4-1/2 cup scalded milk or cream
  • 1/2 cup rainbow nonpareils or jimmies to dip the cupcakes in (optional)

IMG_4571

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a 12 cup cupcake/muffin tin with liners
  2. In a small bowl whisk flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside
  3. In a medium to large bowl, beat the Earth Balance and sugar together until the sugar is dissolved
  4. Beat the eggs and egg white in one at a time until combined.
  5. Beat in vanilla extract.
  6. Alternate beating in the flour mixture and the buttermilk, starting and ending with the flour mixture. (This always helps me: flour-beat-buttermilk-beat-flour-beat-buttermilk-beat-flour-beat–FINISHED!)
  7. Fold in the jimmies until incorporated.
  8. Using a 1/4 cup or large ice cream scoop, divide the batter evenly amongst the 12 cupcake liners.
  9. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the cupcakes comes out clean with no wet batter.
  10. Let cupcakes cool completely.
  11. In a small mug, place milk in the microwave for 1-2 minutes until it starts to bubble.
  12. Add the milk to the chocolate morsels in a bowl and ensure all the chocolate is submerged in the milk.  Let sit for 3 minutes.
  13. Once it has sat for 3 minutes stir with a whisk or a spatula for 1-2 minutes until the chocolate completely melts and becomes glossy.
  14. Dip the tops of the cupcakes in the ganache and immediately dip the tops in the sprinkles.
  15. Let the chocolate ganache set before serving

*If using Earth Balance do not add the salt

  1. IMG_4554
    I think my sister liked them 🙂
Leave a Reply

